Charging to the Podium at Autodrome St-Eustache

Cole Powell brought home a third-place podium finish on Saturday night for the #3 Kubota / Copps Buildall entry in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series at Autodrome St. Eustache. After starting thirteenth in the event, he spent much of the Lucas Oil 250 hovering inside the top-10 before coming to life late in the race and capitalizing on a spin in front of him. Powell exits the event still third in points but slightly narrowing the lead of L.P. Dumoulin with just two events remaining.

“Going into the race I knew I needed a good finish,” Powell explained. “I drove up from thirteenth to sixth, but starting on the outside there was a tough task and we kept getting shuffled back.”

A late race spin in front of Powell involving L.P. Dumoulin, Kevin Lacroix, and Alex Tagliani opened up an opportunity to charge at the podium. Looking back, the incident served to help propel Powell to the podium, but in the moment, the on-track reality was a risk to a decent finish and damaged equipment:

“The late-race spin in front of us wasn’t what I really needed either,” Powell said. “I had the wreck cleared but got hit from behind. That sent me spinning into the wreck I thought I had missed. I don’t know if there’s a fender on the car other than the roof that doesn’t have a dent or a scratch in it… But that’s how short track racing goes sometimes!”

The next race for the NASCAR Pinty’s Series is an appearance south of the border at New Hampshire Raceway, USA on Saturday, September 22.

“Going into the last two races we’re going to keep doing what we’ve been doing on ovals and that’s to try to win like hell and make it exciting for the fans,” added Powell. “Crew did a great job here getting the car where I needed it in the race and we’re excited for these next two events”.

September 8, 2018 Event Results:

1 22   Marc-Antoine Camirand
2 18   Alex Tagliani
3 3   Cole Powell
4 2   Kerry Micks
5 24   Donald Theetge
6 56   David Michaud *
7 17   D.J. Kennington
8 27   Andrew Ranger
9 79   Steve Cote *
10 47   L.P. Dumoulin
11 1   Larry Jackson
12 46   Brett Taylor *
13 74   Kevin Lacroix
14 19   Adam Martin
15 25   Joey McColm
16 37   Simon Dion-Viens
17 4   J.F. Dumoulin